The Joy of a Perfectly Timed Shower

When I was told that showers would become a luxury after Birdie was born, I nodded politely but scoffed in disdain inside of my head. Of course there would be time to shower! A baby has to sleep some time right? Well, I was quick to learn that yes indeed babies do sleep, but so do mommies. And if a mommy is smart, she sleeps when the baby sleeps. And so, the term “crunchy mama” had taken on a different meaning altogether when applied to the state of my unwashed hair. Day after day I have been donning my favorite ball cap to hide the state of affairs on the top of my head.

You see, I haven’t been able to figure out when to shower peacefully with a happy, content (and hopefully sleeping) baby. Waiting until Birdie is out for the night is out of the question considering that I can barely keep my eyes open past her midnight sack-out, let alone shower and dry this head of curls. Showering during the day proves to be difficult as she doesn’t nap for long and screams her head off if left alone in the crib for too long. I can’t wash my hair when I take our daily bath together because she’s too little to be left alone sitting in the tub while I stand to shampoo and condition the curly locks. She’s perfectly content to play on her mat for half an hour, but I’m paranoid about leaving the dogs to babysit her while I’m scrub-a-dubbing away. And those same dogs can’t be left outside for too long lest they bark and howl until the neighborhood comes pounding on the door for me to let them back in. (This has never happened, but I would hate to impede on our neighbors’ sleep schedule since they work nights).

And so, it seemed that I was destined to be a crunchy mama from head to toe until a slight change of plans this morning forced me to shower at 7am after Birdie’s breakfast. I have no problem in admitting that one of my favorite things about the morning feeding is that we can go directly back to sleep snuggled up close in my bed while she eats. Although I have found that she likes to play after that first morning feeding, I have selfishly been snuggling us back into dreamland to catch a few more minutes of shut eye before we get up for the day. But, because of today’s altered schedule, we fed and I showered while she played on the bathroom floor; perfectly content to lay in the steamy bathroom and have a chat with Eli (who was drinking from the sink faucet) while I scrubbed a week’s worth of crunch from my hair.  After a few rounds of “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” belted in my best bathroom voice and a game or two of peek-a-boo from behind the shower door (both for my benefit rather than hers), I was scrubbed clean and feeling full of energy to tackle the day. Even drying my hair was painless as I just propped her up in her bumbo chair and let the diffuser do its magic on my curls with a quick burst of air in Birdie’s direction every now and then. All in all, it took about 45 minutes from start to finish giving me just enough time to get dressed and settle back down in the chair for another feeding (a growing baby’s got to eat).

But the discovery of the perfectly timed shower breeds a new delemma.

Do I sleep in this morning? Or do I shower?

I guess we’ll find out tomorrow.

About Crunchy Mama

I'm just your average breastfeeding, babywearing, attachment parenting and cloth diapering crunchy mama/military spouse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Joy of a Perfectly Timed Shower

  1. karissa says:

    … sigh .. showers.. they are still hard to come by when your on your own. when ethan her age i would just bring her in like you did to play on his mat, sit in his vibrating chair or when he was a little older that bouncy thing with the toys on it…. but all that was normaly after an afternoon feeding because i really liked to go back to sleep in the mornings to! lol

  2. Maire says:

    I remember those days. I think I washed my hair 2 or 3 times in Monkey’s first month! These days, he’s content to sit in his vibrating bouncy chair – for no more than 15 minutes though.

Leave a Reply

