Sunny with a Chance of Golden Showers

Yes, you heard correctly. Golden showers. Being the new mommy of a little girl I didn’t think that I would need to prepare myself for such a nasty weather anomaly, but to my dismay and horrified confusion the front of my shirt became a casualty of a walk-by peeing. For some reason, Birdie has taken a shining to making sure that everything comes out before that new diaper gets snapped on, which has been quite detrimental to the front of my shirt, the wall, the carpet, the changing pad and the outfit she is wearing at the time. You think that after 4 golden showers in 2 days, I would smarten up and start putting something over her to block the mess, but I’m so ingrained in my diaper routine (take off cloth diaper, put in pail, grab cloth wipe – use – put in pail, grab new cloth diaper and put on baby with cover) that I end up on my dripping hands and knees using the carpet cleaning machine to clean up the mess. And you should see her face. She’s so damn proud of herself that she’s all smiles and giggles as I grumble and scrub.

Now there are items on the market to combat little boy golden showers

Whizz Kid Pee Blocker

Pee Pee Teepee

But where is the product for the squirt-happy female? When this question was posed to The Cubs Fan, he happily invented a similar product for females named “The Happy Clamshell.” Oh jeez.

For the time being, a well placed cloth wipe and a mom dressed in a raincoat and wellies will have to do.

About Crunchy Mama

I'm just your average breastfeeding, babywearing, attachment parenting and cloth diapering crunchy mama/military spouse.
This entry was posted in Cloth Diapering. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunny with a Chance of Golden Showers

  1. karissa says:

    that is so funny! i love the name ur hubby came up with its very clever and i’m sure that if there was a female peepee teapee thing it would called that! you guys should make them and start selling them, i’m sure there are others out there who go through the same thing 🙂

  2. Maire says:

    My little boy has a habit of peeing in a new diaper seconds after I’ve finished snapping up his pants so that I have to change him twice. Just like your little one, he thinks it’s funny to watch my exasperation, and of course his giggles are contagious and I usually wind up laughing with him :-).

Leave a Reply

