The Baby, The Budget, And the $20 Teether

My baby bird is crying and nawing on her hand while I do my own bit of sniffling over the sad state of our bank account. The truth is, I have teether-toy envy. I keep seeing Sophie the Giraffe everywhere I go. She’s in the mouths of babies in the grocery store, on the end caps at Babies R Us and being grasped by chubby fists in pictures all over the internet. And I want one. BAD.

We’ve tried the cheap route with cold wash cloths and plastic rings. She has a freezer bee that she doesn’t much care for, but I think it’s too heavy for her to hold to her mouth.

And then we bought the RaZbaby RaZ-Berry teether for $5 thinking that she might enjoy the fact that it is somewhat like a pacifier. FAIL! She hates it. In fact, today I handed it to her and she pitched it right back at me.

She won't even hold it

And so, I went online in search of an affordable Sophie. I mean, who can qualify spending $20 on a teether? Then I wondered, just what is it about Sophie that makes her so damn special? I headed over to the official Sophie the Giraffe website to see what makes her “The Most Famous Teething Toy.” I watched the video (complete with a French narrator) and was amazed at how long Sophie takes to manufacture (3 months!). She’s BPA free and painted with food grade paint, which is a plus since she’s meant for little mouths. But what struck me the most, was how she stimulates all five senses. This next section was taken straight from the website:

Why is Sophie such a huge success? Sophie the Giraffe is BABY’S FIRST TOY, stimulating EACH OF HIS SENSES from the age of 3 months:

•Sight:

At the age of 3 months, a baby’s eyesight is still limited and he can only make out high contrasts. The Dark and contrasting attention-catching spots all over Sophie the Giraffe’s body provide visual stimulation and she soon becomes a familiar and reassuring object for baby.

•Hearing:

Sophie’s the Giraffe squeaker keeps baby amused and stimulates his hearing. To begin with, the funny sound Sophie makes when she is squeezed helps to stimulate baby’s hearing, and then later, helps him to understand the link between cause and effect.

•Taste:

A Sophie the Giraffe is made of 100% natural rubber and food paint, and is completely safe to chew, just like a feeding bottle teat. Her soft texture and numerous chewable parts (ears, horns, legs), make her perfect for soothing baby’s sore gums during teething.

•Touch:

Touch is the first means a baby has of communicating with the outside world. Sophie the Giraffe’s soft feel, like baby’s mother’s skin, stimulates physiological and emotional response that soothe baby and promote healthy growth and well-being..

•Smell:

The singular scent of natural rubber from the Hevea tree makes Sophie the Giraffe very special and easy for your child to identify amid all his other toys.

•Easy to grip:

Sophie the Giraffe’s shape and 18 cm (7 inches) size are perfect for baby’s small hands. She is very light, and her long legs and neck are easy for baby to grip, even from his earliest days.

And with that, I was sold. Now I REALLY had to have one for Birdie. I could just imagine her tiny hands grasped around Sophie’s neck or legs or face. And of course she would be wearing a baby beret to celebrate the French spirit of it all while chomping away happily.

After waiting a couple of days for the paycheck to hit our bank account, I scooped up Birdie and drove over to my favorite cloth diaper store, Banana Peels Diapers, where Heather sadly informed me that she had sold her last Sophie earlier on in the day. Slump shouldered, I trudged out of the store and drove across town to Babies R Us where I bought our very own Sophie for $23. Pricey? Yes. Worth it? OH YEAH!

After two days of Sophie, we’re speaking French. Je t’aime le giraffe. We love the giggles she produces with each squeak and how the dogs come running in the hopes that the squeak was a toy for them. We love how Sophie save our knuckles from nawing and our shirtsleeves from running rivers of spit. Her spindly legs fit perfectly into the back of Birdie’s mouth for an extra hard chomp. All in all, she’s wonderful. And there’s pictures to prove it.

About Crunchy Mama

I'm just your average breastfeeding, babywearing, attachment parenting and cloth diapering crunchy mama/military spouse.
This entry was posted in Baby, Teething. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Baby, The Budget, And the $20 Teether

  1. Pingback: We've All Gonz Crazy » Oh How We Love Sophie

  2. karen Reekie says:

    I refused to buy a Sophie for my daughter, thinking they were a big marketing rip off, a ploy to get us deluded parents to spend more money, and we never really missed having one. But my son, is a MISERABLE teether, and after seeing how much my nephew, the same age, loved his, I went and got one, and we now have a Sophie, whom we adore. She goes everywhere, and is well chewed, sucked, and loved. Best £13 (am in the UK) I’ve ever spent! 🙂

  3. Rebekah says:

    We’ve never regretted buying one for our son. It is wonderful : )

  4. KAS says:

    As I said on Facebook (but will say again here!) my youngest is also teething – granted, he’s older than your cutie at 18 months, but he’s getting in his canines and a few molars. Eight teeth in all that I’ve counted, with who knows how many others that will start to push up within the next few days or weeks. I wish we’d gotten a Sophie earlier, but after seeing how miserable this poor kid is (and how he absolutely hates EVERYTHING else we’ve given him), and how hard he gnaws on his knuckles, I think we’re going to have to get a Sophie.
    Not that I’m too upset. She’s cute. 😉

Leave a Reply

